On 5th June, India launched a Brochure campaign for UNSC’s seat. India’s External Affairs Minister Dr. S Jaishankar launched a brochure, outlining India’s priorities for its forthcoming campaign to secure an elected seat on the UNSC at elections.

The Brochure contains 5 key priorities for India during the tenure of UNSC non-permanent member:

  1. New Opportunities for progress.
  2. Effective response to international terrorism.
  3. Reforming the multilateral system.
  4. A comprehensive approach to international peace and security.
  5. Promoting technology with a human touch as a driver of solutions

The brochure also mentions that India’s approach will be guided by “Five S’s”, as set out by the Prime Minister:

  • Samman (Respect),
  •  Samvad (Dialogue),
  •  Sahyog (Cooperation),
  •  Shanti (Peace), to create conditions for universal
  •  Samriddhi (Prosperity)

The brochure depicts India’s overall objective during this tenure in the UN Security Council to achieve N.O.R.M.S i.e.  a New Orientation for a Reformed Multilateral System.

Now, it is worth noting that India’s candidature for a non-permanent seat at the United Nations Security Council for a two-year term was unanimously (means there is no other contestant from the group) endorsed by the Asia-Pacific group of UN (55 members), including Pakistan and China.

Elections for five non-permanent members of the UNSC for the 2021-22 term will be held in June in 2020. That is the reason, India has launched this campaign before election.

In spite of India’s candidature has been endorsed by its group, it needs to secure the votes of two-thirds votes (a minimum of 129 votes if all 193 member states participate). This time voting pattern too has changed due to COVID-19. Now, voting will be done through a secret ballot.

Now, India has been a non-permanent member of the Security Council seven-time: 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, 1991-92 and 2011-12.

Read | Importance of India Australia Virtual Summit

UNSC membership

UNSC has five permanent members and 10 non-permanent members. The five permanent members of the council are China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US.

Now, each year the 193-member UN General Assembly (UNGA) elects five non-permanent members for a two-year term.

All 10 non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis:

  • Five for African and Asian States;
  • one for the Eastern European states;
  • two for the Latin American and Caribbean States; and
  • two for Western European and other States.

Last year in June 2019, Estonia, Niger, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam were elected to the council for a two-year term beginning January 2020. Here we must note that St. Vincent and the Grenadines is the smallest nation ever to secure a seat.

Currently, 10 non-permanent members are Belgium (2020), Dominican Republic (2020), Germany (2020), Indonesia (2020), South Africa (2020), Estonia (2021), Niger (2021), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (2021), Tunisia (2021), Viet Nam (2021).

Share now